Ranking the 20 winners of the National this century

Last Updated 27 Feb 2020 | Commercial content | 18+ | Play Responsibly | T&C Apply | Wagering |
Grand National Festival

Grand National Festival – Aintree Racecourse, Liverpool, Britain – April 13, 2018 Jester Jet ridden by Robert Dunne (R) wins the 13:45 Alder Hey Children’s Charity Handicap Hurdle Action Images via Reuters/Jason Cairnduff @SCANPIX

With the 21st Grand National of the 21st century now less than two months away, we take a look back at the winners this century and rank them informally based on the performance of the winner and how memorable the race was in general.

20– Rule The World (2016)- On extremely testing ground unfancied 33/1 chance Rule The World defeated favourite the Last Samuri to land remarkably the only chase win of his career.

19– Pineau De Re (2014)- Dr Richard Newland’s French bred gave journeyman jockey Leighton Aspell the first of two National winners to date when beating Balthazar King by 1¼L in a driving finish.

18– Auroras Encore (2013)- A completely unfancied 66/1 chance, Auroras Encore landed the odds for Bingley trainer Sue Smith beating Cappa Bleu by a resounding nine lengths.

17– Silver Birch (2007)- After missing the 2005 race when amongst the favourites and failing to complete in 2006 both when trained by Paul Nicholls it was third time lucky for the 33/1 chance which helped raise the profile of emerging trainer Gordon Elliott.

16– Numbersixvalverde (2006)- The middle leg of an Irish treble in the race was landed by well-backed Numbersixvalverde. He defeated reigning champion Hedgehunter who was conceding 18lbs to him.

15– Bindaree (2002)- This once useful novice later found his calling in marathons and he outstayed his 39 rivals to give Cheltenham trainer Nigel Twiston-Davies his second winner in the race.

14– Comply Or Die (2008)- This strapping chaser was one of the more fancied winners of the National this century. It allowed David Pipe to follow in the footsteps of his father Martin by winning ‘The People’s Race’. Comply Or Die was second 12 months later.

13– Tiger Roll (2018)- The diminutive chaser’s first National win came in determined fashion as he narrowly outgunned Pleasant Company to lead home an Irish 1-2-3-4 finish.

12– Mon Mome (2009)- Memorable for all the wrong reasons as far as punters are concerned. Mon Mome at 100/1 got up to defeat favourite and defending champion Comply Or Die.

11– One For Arthur (2017)- A hugely-impressive winner whose career has been blighted by injuries since. One For Arthur became just the second Scottish trained National winner.

10– Monty’s Pass (2003)- One of the most impressive National winners on this list, Monty’s Pass was backed in from 40/1 to 16/1 and duly obliged in decisive fashion under Barry Geraghty landing his owners £1million in winnings.

9– Red Marauder (2001)- One of the most dramatic Nationals in history went to Red Marauder. Only two completed the course although two more remounted and finished in bottomless ground.

8– Neptune Collonges (2012)- In his final start the running mate of his great stable-mates Kauto Star and Denman finally got his big day in the sun when winning in one of the closest finishes in National history for the great Paul Nicholls.

7– Many Clouds (2015)- A hugely popular but ill-fated chaser, Many Clouds had his greatest of many fine days when winning the 2015 National. It was the first time the race had been shown on Channel 4 and it gave jockey Leighton Aspell back-to-back wins in the race.

6– Ballabriggs (2011)- The McCain family will be forever synonymous with the Grand National thanks largely to Red Rum. In 2011 Donald McCain junior emulated his father who has won the race four times as Ballabriggs made virtually all to defeat Oscar Time.

5– Papillon (2000)- Around the turn of the century before Irish racing was as well covered as it is today the Irish seemed to have a knack of unearthing a dark-horse who every man and his dog seemed to know about. Papillon was a prime example when winning in 2000; the win launched the career of one Ruby Walsh.

4– Hedgehunter (2005)- Among the best Grand National performers since Red Rum, Hedgehunter won the 2005 edition before going oh-so close the following year when conceding 18lbs to winner Numbersixvalverde.

3– Amberleigh House (2004)- Landed one of those stories only the National can when providing Red Rum’s trainer Ginger McCain with a fourth win in the race some 27 years on from the legendary chasers last win in the race.

2– Tiger Roll (2019)- In becoming the first back-to-back National winner for 45 years Tiger Roll was the shortest priced winning favourite for 107 years. Can he become the first ever horse to win three consecutive Nationals in 2020?

1– Don’t Push It (2010)- Legendary jockey AP McCoy had already broken just about every record and won just about every race worth winning bar the National when in 2010 at the 15th time of asking he finally won ‘The People’s Race’ in one of the worst results for bookmakers in National history.

Latest News

Retiring Power backs Aintree’s future

Grand National-winning jockey Robbie Power doesn’t believe there is a “huge necessity” to cut the number of runners in the Aintree showpiece in the future. Calls have been heard to reduce the field size from 40 down to 30, but Power doesn’t believe such a move is needed. Grand National pedigree Power, 40, became one […]

Waley-Cohen fairytale goes to the wire

Sam Waley-Cohen signed off his career in the saddle with an incredible Grand National success at Aintree that even a Hollywood scriptwriter might struggle to come up with. The amateur jockey, riding in his last competitive contest, won the world’s most famous race. It was a tale barely believable, but that’s what transpired as Waley-Cohen […]

2022 Grand National Results – Winners, Finishers & Fallers

The Grand National always delivers a memorable story, and it delivered two in 2022. Jockey Sam Waley-Cohen drew the curtain on his racing career by steering home 50/1 outsider Noble Yeats to win the 2022 Grand National. That was just half the story though, with Noble Yeats becoming the first 7 year-old horse to win […]