Trainers Championship 2023/24

Betting on racing is about far more than just a horse, with the jockey and training team also key in creating a winning combination. It can therefore be useful to know who the best trainers are to guide you towards the best runners in big races like the Grand National.

In the UK there are two horse racing codes – jumps and flat. Each has their own season and during that period a tally of winners and total prize money is recorded by the British Horse Racing Authority and the yard that come out on top each season are awarded the ‘Top Trainer’ title.

Bet £10, Get £40 in free bets
Join and place a £10 fixed odds bet at odds of 1/2 or greater. Once the bet is settled, get a £10 free fixed odds bet plus a £5 free Total Goals football spread bet and a £5 racing Winning Favourites spread bet. The second £10 free fixed odds bet, £5 free Total Goals football spread bet, and £5 racing Winning Favourites spread bet will be credited 24 hours later. Free bets expire in 28 days if unused. Promotions available to 18+ aged individuals. New customers only. T&Cs apply. Full T&Cs

National Hunt Trainers Championship

The jumps trainers’ championship runs each year from April – with the final day of the jumps season often held at the Sandown bet365 Gold Cup Meeting in April.

Even though the new jumps season starts up straight away, many feel the main jumps season months are from October to April. There are summer jumping fixtures through May, June, July, August and September and winners and prize money here is included towards the trainers’ title. However, with the title decided on total prize money (not total winners) and the big jumps races being held between October and April, the summer months don’t really impact the final result.

Having several winners at the big UK jumps festivals like the Cheltenham Festival in March and the Aintree Grand National Meeting in April – where there is a lot of prize money on offer can often go a long way to deciding the jumps trainers’ championship each season. The current Champion jumps trainer is Paul Nicholls, while Martin Pipe (15 titles) holds the record for the most titles. Nicky Henderson currently has six champion jumps titles to his name, while the other big UK stable of Paul Nicholls has 12 titles as is closing ominously on Martin Pipe’s impressive record.

Since the 2005/06 jumps season, the trainers’ title has been dominated by both Nicky Henderson and Paul Nicholls, with one of that pair always winning the title.

Leading National Hunt Trainers 2023/24 – by Prize Money

Given the jumps season doesn’t really get going till around October, the current standings may include some more unfamiliar names, but the likes of Paul Nicholls, Dan Skelton and Nicky Henderson are all sure to be in the winners circle over the course of the season.

TrainerWinsRunsPrize Money
Dan Skelton120783£2,891,419
Paul Nicholls132564£2,886,462
Nicky Henderson91440£2,222,622
Venetia Williams57337£1,492,862
Nigel Twiston-Davies78435£1,093,924

*Statistics last updated on 29th April 2024.

It’s not only British trainers who should be kept an eye on though, as the best Irish based trainers all feature heavily at the big UK festivals like Cheltenham and Aintree. Willie Mullins, Gordon Elliott and Henry de Bromhead all brought their best long distance runners to the 2024 Grand National. Trainer Willie Mullins won a lot of money at Cheltenham in 2024, with 9 of his horses winning races. The latest Irish trainers standings can be found here.

TrainerWinsRunsPrize Money
Willie Mullins28160€3,894,487
Gordon Elliott20138€1,874,347
Fergal O’Brien107538€1,332,495
Jonjo O’Neill72505€1,128,688
Henry de Bromhead653€1,116,022

*Statistics last updated on 29th April 2024.

Get £20 in free bets when you place a £5 bet
New Customer offer YSKARZ. Place a min £5 bet on the sportsbook at odds of min EVS (2.0) and get £20 in free bets. Free bet rewards valid for 30 days. Only deposits via Debit Cards & Apple Pay will qualify for this offer. T&Cs apply. Please Gamble Responsibly Full T&Cs

National Hunt Trainers Championship previous winners

  • Most National Hunt Championship titles: Martin Pipe (15)
  • Most consecutive titles: 10, Martin Pipe (1996-2005)
Tiger Roll at Stable

Gordon Elliott Stable Visit – Cullentra House: Two time Grand National winner Tiger Roll with trainer Gordon Elliott and groom Louise Magee during the stable visit to Gordon Elliott’s yard at Cullentra House, Co. Meath. Brian Lawless/PA Images/Ritzau Scanpix

Flat Trainers Championship

The flat trainers’ championship is also settled on total prize money won and not total winners as it used to be.

The flat trainers’ championship runs from January to December each year, but many feel the main flat season months are from April to October.

Yes, there are flat turf races in March and November, but from November to March the flat focus switches to the All Weather racing.
The AW tracks also hold their own trainers championship, but any winners are also counted towards the main flat trainers’ championship.

However, with the main flat races and the bigger prize money on offer between the months of April and October, this is when the flat trainers’ title is really decided.

The powerful John Gosden yard has won the flat trainers’ title four times, but they had to make do with third place in 2021, as both Charlie Appleby and Andrew Balding finished the season with more prize money.

Despite being based in Ireland, the powerful Aidan O’Brien yard often raid the big UK races with success and that has resulted in them picking up the top flat trainers’ title six times (2001, 2002, 2007, 2008, 2016 and 2017).

Other names on the flat trainers’ hall of fame in recent years have been Richard Hannon Jnr (2014) and Sir Michael Stoute, who has 10 titles to his name.

Flat Trainers Championship previous winners

  • Most titles: Alec Taylor, Jr. (12)
  • Most consecutive titles: Alec Taylor, Jr (1917-1923)
Bet £10 Get £30, Credited as 3 x £10 bets
18+. Play Safe. From 00:01 on 18.10.2022. £30 bonus. New customers only. Minimum £10 stake on odds of 1/2 (1.5) or greater on sportsbook (excluding Virtual markets). Further terms apply. #ad Full T&Cs

You might also like…

About aim to provide you with the best unofficial guide to the Aintree Grand National, including everything from this year’s runners and riders and the latest news, through to the best betting offers, how and where to watch the race, and much more.
18+ | Commercial Content | T&C's Apply | Play Responsibly | Advertising Disclosure is an independent professional comparison site supported by referral fees from the sites which are ranked on this site. The sites and information we present are from companies from which receives compensation. This compensation may impact the rankings of the sites. Other factors, including our own opinions, your location, and the likelihood of signing up, may also impact how the ranking of the sites appears to a particular user. cannot and does not present information about every betting/casino site or betting/casino site offer available.